Jarrow FC
Jarrow FC

SEASON REVIEW

09 May 2018

THE FIRST NORTHERN LEAGUE SEASON

Sat, 05/08/2017

Jarrow

Durham City

0-1

eNL2

GAME 1

Tue, 08/08/2017

Northallerton Town

Jarrow

6-2

eNL2

GAME 2

Sat, 12/08/2017

Jarrow

Easington Colliery

3-2

eNL2

GAME 3

Wed, 16/08/2017

Jarrow

Hebburn Town

1-0

eNL2

GAME 4

Sat, 19/08/2017

Darlington RA

Jarrow

2-4

eNL2

GAME 5

Wed, 23/08/2017

Jarrow

West Allotment Celtic

3-0

eNL2

GAME 6

Sat, 26/08/2017

Jarrow

Brandon United

1-0

eNL2

GAME 7

Mon, 28/08/2017

Alnwick Town

Jarrow

0-0

eNL2

GAME 8

Sat, 02/09/2017

Jarrow

Billingham Town

0-1

eNL2

GAME 9

Wed, 06/09/2017

Heaton Stannington

Jarrow

6-2

eNL2

GAME 10

Wed, 13/09/2017

Silksworth CW

Jarrow

1-5

Durham Challenge Cup

Preliminary Round

Sat, 16/09/2017

Willington

Jarrow

1-0

eNL2

GAME 11

Fri, 22/09/2017

Jarrow

Chester-Le-Street

1-1

eNL2

GAME 12

Sat, 30/09/2017

Ryton & Crawcrook Albion

Jarrow

1-1

eNL2

GAME 12

Sat, 14/10/2017

Bedlington Terriers

Jarrow

3-2

eNL2

GAME 14

Sat, 21/10/2017

Jarrow

Crook Town

2-0

eNL2

GAME 15

Wed, 25/10/2017

Jarrow

Dunston UTS

1-3

Durham Challenge Cup

1st Round

Sat, 28/10/2017

Whickham

Jarrow

0-1

eNL2

GAME 16

Sat, 04/11/2017

Hebburn Town

Jarrow

0-0

eNL2

GAME 17

Tue, 07/11/2017

Tow Law Town

Jarrow

3-1

E Armstrong Memorial Cup

1st Round

Sat, 11/11/2017

Blyth AFC

Jarrow

1-0

eNL2

GAME 18

Wed, 15/11/2017

Jarrow

Penrith

1-4

League Cup

2nd Round

Sat, 18/11/2017

Jarrow

Thornaby

2-1

eNL2

GAME 19

 

Sat, 25/11/2017

Jarrow

Blyth AFC

1-5

eNL2 20

 

Sat, 23/12/2017

West Allotment Celtic

Jarrow

1-1

eNL2 21

 

Wed, 10/01/2018

Jarrow

Northallerton Town

0-3

eNL2 22

 

Sat, 13/01/2018

Easington Colliery

Jarrow

1-4

eNL2 23

 

Sat, 27/01/2018

Brandon United

Jarrow

2-0

eNL2 24

 

Sat, 03/02/2018

Jarrow

Willington

0-0

eNL2 25

 

Sat, 17/02/2018

Jarrow

Ryton & Crawcrook Albion

2-3

eNL2 26

 

Tue, 20/02/2018

Billingham Town

Jarrow

6-1

eNL2 27

 

Tue, 13/03/2018

Tow Law Town

Jarrow

0-1

eNL2 28

 

Sat, 24/03/2018

Durham City

Jarrow

5-2

eNL2 29

 

Wed, 28/03/2018

Esh Winning

Jarrow

2-3

eNL2 30

 

Mon, 09/04/2018

Jarrow

Heaton Stannington

1-1

eNL2 31

 

Tue, 17/04/2018

Chester-Le-Street

Jarrow

2-2

eNL2 32

 

Thu, 19/04/2018

Jarrow

Whickham

0-0

eNL2 33

 

Sat, 21/04/2018

Jarrow

Esh Winning

1-3

eNL2 34

 

Mon, 23/04/2018

Jarrow

Tow Law Town

3-2

eNL2 35

 

Tue, 24/04/2018

Jarrow

Alnwick Town

0-0

eNL2 36

 

Sat, 28/04/2018

Jarrow

Bedlington Terriers

1-2

eNL2 37

 

Mon, 30/04/2018

Jarrow

Darlington RA

6-1

eNL2 38

 

Wed, 02/05/2018

Crook Town

Jarrow

2-2

eNL2 39

 

Sat, 05/05/2018

Thornaby

Jarrow

2-0

eNL2 40

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The season started with an narrow  1-0 defeat at home to  Durham city followed by an heavy away  6-2 defeat to  Northallerton Town  with Grant Pressling opening the account for Jarrow in the new Northern league  . The next home game saw an late Max Kirkham goal secure the first win 3-2 over Easington which was followed by an even later Jonny Hurst ( ntransfer Tow Law then West Allotment ) to defeat neighbours Hebburn town  1-0 in front of a bumper 240 crowd . The winning run continued with an 4-2 win at Darlington RA and an emphatic 3-0 win at home to West Allotment . A hard fought 1-0 win at home against Brandon United came with another Max Kirkham goal .The trip to Alnwick town earned an credible draw 0-0  followed by an tough  home game against Billingham town who ended the fine run with an 1-0 win .The tenth game saw an heavy defeat 6-2 at Heaton Stannington which brought things back down to earth. The visit to Willington was an disappointing 1-0 defeat however an crowd of 196 on an Friday night  in September saw Jarrow get an point from Chester le street at home with Kris Allen scoring

Another 1-1 draw followed at Ryton and Crawcrook with Josh Allen  ( later transferred to Washington ) this time notching .  A match full of controversy followed at Bedlington Terriers with key decisions going against Jarrow who lost 3-2 with Liam Clark 9 who later went to Bedlington ) and David Smith scoring .Josh Allen and Nick Quinn were on the score sheet for an  2-0 home win against Crook town followed by an outstanding performance in extremely high winds at Whickham with Kai Elliott providing an goal of the season contender with an strike outside the box.

Another mammoth crowd of 335 saw Jarrow battle for an 0-0 draw at Hebburn town and a  visit to Blyth saw an 1-0 defeat in an close game and then a  double from Nick Quinn saw a strong Thornaby side defeated 2-1 at home . The 20th game was  against high spending Blyth FC who defeated Jarrow 5-1 at home  with Kris Allen turning in another good display .

 December saw an solitary game with an 1-1 draw on the astro turf at West Allotment with Kris Allen getting the goal . New signings were Luke Collins  and Michael Watson

 2018 saw the  midweek visit of high flying Northallerton town who won comfortably 3-0 , however the following Saturday saw Jarrow complete the double over Easington 4-1 the highest  league away win with goals from Aaron Kah Peter Kane Jordan Mellish and Kris Allen penalty and Darren Morton made an sub appearance after a 7 month long lay off  The visit to Brandon united saw Jarrow lose 2-0 in an under par performance . A home game saw an 0-0 draw with Willington followed by an  3-2 defeat to Ryton and Crawcrook with Darren Morton scoring an youngster Liam Simpson Mcgill having an good first start after signing from Wearside league football . A  midweek visit to Billingham town saw an heavy defeat 6-1 with Peter Kane scoring the goal . The following Tuesday an excellent Luke Collins goal in the final

minutes saw 1-0 win  at Tow law town restore confidence .The topsy turvy results continued with an 5-2 defeat to Durham city with Kriss Goss scoring on his debut and  a penalty by Kris Allen who was later injured . A midweek win at Esh  winning 3-2 saw  Kriss Goss strike two goal of the season  contender free kicks and Michael Watson also fired home from long range  in another good away victory . Two games in two days saw an Watson goal secure an point 1-1 at home to Heaton Stannington and an visit to Chester le street saw Steve Graham hit an great shot in an 2-2 draw .

The third game that week saw  creditable  0-0 draw with now  promoted Whickham . The visit of Esh winning saw an home defeat 3-1 which was disappointing but the amount of games was showing  Steve Graham scored . Jarrow bounced back on the Monday with an double over Tow law town 3-2  at home with Kris Allen scoring an hat trick

The games were coming thick and fast an  0-0 home draw with  a plucky Alnwick town followed by an home defeat to Bedlington Terriers 2-1 with Graham scoring an penalty . The biggest win of the season followed against Darlington RA 6-1 with Luke Collins and Steve Graham grabbing braces and Kris Allen and Jordan Mellish scoring . An away visit to Crook saw Kris Allen and an late Daryll Donnelly goal secure an 2-2 draw

Donnelly having signed from  Jarrow roofing and became an major asset late in the season .

The final game was at Thornaby and was an 2-0 defeat the end to an hard but successful first season in the Northern league for Jarrow  FC

Several goal of the season contenders have been mentioned but the Kai Elliott goal at promoted Whickham in high winds has my vote .

Several players have come and go and mentions must be made of the early goals of Johnny Hirst, the mid season efforts of Grant Pressling, John Murray , Josh Allen and Nick Quinn who all departed during the season, the signings of  Liam Simpson Mcgill , Kris Goss and Daryll Donnelly helped the side at the back and up front .The signing of  goalkeeper Jak Wells from Bedlington terriers for the last  12 games  to replace Gary Frater was also an major benefit to the side . Kris Allen made 32 appearances top scoring  with 11 goals , the top appearances  was Jordan Mellish with 37 and 5 goals

Steve Graham  played 36 games scoring 5 goals &  8 assists and youngster Nick Little made  34 appearances many from the bench

 Youngster Sam Attewell  who recovered from injury appeared 33 times and had mid season trials with professional clubs

 Kris Goss grabbed 4 goals in 8 games ,

The management should be rightly proud of the efforts bearing in mind the  extensive finances of some clubs in the league .

 

Ray Morton  JFC Committee